Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Waypoint types explained

  1. #1
    Normal User Boget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Reputation
    22
    Rep Power
    5

    Waypoint types explained

    Here are the different types that you can use for Cavebot → Waypoints.

    Rep++ if it helps you!




    Stand

    The cavebot will walk to this position, and it won't advance to the next waypoint until it has reached this exact position and stands still on it. Stand waypoints should always be positions where you can actually stand still without getting moved to a different location; i.e. not teleports or open holes or stairs.

    Node

    The cavebot will walk near this position (it won't always walk on the exact square). You can specify the Node range (defaults to 4) in Cavebot → Settings → NodeRange.

    Walk

    The bot will walk to this waypoint using the arrow keys walking method.

    Rope

    The cavebot will use a rope item on this position. You can specify which rope item to use (defaults to regular rope) in Cavebot → Settings → Rope.

    Shovel

    The cavebot will use a shovel item on this position. You can specify which shovel item to use (defaults to regular shovel) in Cavebot → Settings → Shovel.

    Pick

    The cavebot will use a pick item on this position. You can specify which pick item to use (defaults to regular pick) in Cavebot → Settings → Pick.

    Machete

    The cavebot will use a machete or a similar item on this position. You can specify which machete-like item to use (defaults to regular machete) in Cavebot → Settings → Machete.

    Ladder

    The cavebot will use the ladder on the waypoint position.

    Use

    The cavebot will use the item on the waypoint position.

    Lure

    The cavebot will be able to lure creatures to this location. Read more about how it works here and here.

    Action

    The cavebot will execute the LUA script you specify. It ignores the waypoint information (doesn't walk to the position) but you can use the islocation() function in the LUA script to verify if you are on the waypoint position (true) or not (false).



    Please post feedback / corrections / more information! Let's document how these waypoint types work exactly. Thanks! I will edit this post as soon as more information is available.

  2. #2
    Normal User Boget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Reputation
    22
    Rep Power
    5
    Can anyone explain what Walk does exactly, and how it differs from Stand/Node?

  3. #3
    Normal User RafiXWPT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    (Poland) http://rafixwptscripts.com
    Posts
    1,602
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    128 Post(s)
    Reputation
    128
    Rep Power
    9
    its like stand but ibot MUST stand at Stand position, if u put there Walk then if that waypoint is unreachable bot will skip it.

  4. #4
    Normal User Boget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Reputation
    22
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by RafiXWPT View Post
    its like stand but ibot MUST stand at Stand position, if u put there Walk then if that waypoint is unreachable bot will skip it.
    Thanks. Edited!

    Edit: This doesn’t seem to be true. See post below.

  5. #5
    Normal User Boget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Reputation
    22
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by RafiXWPT View Post
    its like stand but ibot MUST stand at Stand position, if u put there Walk then if that waypoint is unreachable bot will skip it.
    Hrm, this doesn't seem to be true. The bot will skip even a Stand waypoint if it is unreachable for long enough.

    So, does anyone else know what Walk does exactly?

  6. #6
    Normal User
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Reputation
    11
    Rep Power
    5
    The difference between stand and walk is when entering teleports. If you use stand to enter a teleport, and you get teleported to a place where you can reach the teleport, it will get stuck trying to go to the teleport until the end of time (or until next server save). If you use walk, once he has walked into the position, it will skip.

    Examples:
    Liberty Bay temple
    I made a script that worked like this: Level up 1-8, pass equipment to rook mule, go to mainland (Edron), level up to 10, buy wound cleansing, go to Liberty Bay, walk in citizenship tp, logout at trainers.
    I used Stand at first. When entering the citizenship teleport, you get teleported to that same floor and the teleport spot is reachable fom there. So it tried to step into the teleport spot one time and another (because the spot was reachable, but it never Standed on the teleport spot, just walk into it).
    When using Walk, it just steped into the teleport spot ONCE

    Laguna Islands
    If you don't have the islands mapped, when you step onto the turtle, you get teleported to that same floor, bt somewhere else. Well, I don't know if the spot is reachable (in minimap range), but if that's the case, it would start exploring the whole island surface trying to find a way to the Meriana turtle. Once it would explore the whole island and find no way to the turtle, it would skip the waypoint and just continue botting.

    Boss teleports
    When you step into boss teleports that guide you to the same floor (can't give any examples, but it's just to make an idea), it would start exploring the lair finding a way to the outside teleport. This way it would be no that bad either, since you have to face the boss anyway.


    The bad side of walk is that if you lag when running the Walk waypoint, since it would just step ONCE into that position, you could get stuck. So when using Walk waypoints, add an islocation() action afterwards for your own safety


    Hope this info was usefull ^^

  7. #7
    Normal User Boget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Reputation
    22
    Rep Power
    5
    @Batbihiru Great info! That explains it. Thank you!

  8. #8
    iBot User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Reputation
    10
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Boget View Post
    Hrm, this doesn't seem to be true. The bot will skip even a Stand waypoint if it is unreachable for long enough.

    So, does anyone else know what Walk does exactly?
    You can use it to go up/down ramps: put a Stand near the ramp (north, south, east or west) and then make a Walk-waypoint in the direction you want it to go. However you can get stuck very easily like this because if there's a trough (or any other item you can't walk through) then it will skip the waypoints and eventually you'll never get past that part untill the item that blocks you is removed. For any other cases I don't know why you would want to use Walk.

  9. #9
    Normal User Raphael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    297
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Reputation
    78
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Spana View Post
    You can use it to go up/down ramps: put a Stand near the ramp (north, south, east or west) and then make a Walk-waypoint in the direction you want it to go. However you can get stuck very easily like this because if there's a trough (or any other item you can't walk through) then it will skip the waypoints and eventually you'll never get past that part untill the item that blocks you is removed. For any other cases I don't know why you would want to use Walk.
    The way you should use it is exactly the opposite of what you described.

    @Thread

    Okay, since everyone seems to be going nuts about this whole Stand/Walk/Node thing, let me clear it out:

    A stand waypoint means exactly what the name suggests. The bot won't go to the next waypoint until it has stood on that exact waypoint. You should use it for critical locations, places you can't miss by any chance, like stairs or open holes. Be careful though, it conflicts with teleports because of the way the Tibia Client handles them. Never use stands on teleports, instead use a walk waypoint and add an action as the next waypoint, to check if you really went through it.

    Nodes work pretty much like stands. It will try and reach the location without proceeding to the next waypoint until it does, with only one exception: if you happen to go near (4 sqms by default) the waypoint location and has to stop to do something else, such as looting or attacking a monster, it will consider the waypoint reached and proceed to the next one.

    Walks could be called lazy stands. They try to reach the location once, if it's stopped by any reason (location unreachable, looting, attacking a monters, etc...), it simply skips to the next waypoint.


    I believe this summarizes everything. If there's any doubt left, let me know.
    Last edited by Raphael; 01-09-2013 at 03:50 PM.

  10. #10
    iBot User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    Reputation
    10
    Rep Power
    5
    Makes sense what you said Think I misunderstood Walk then. However look at this from your post:

    Quote Originally Posted by Raphael View Post
    Never use stands on teleports, instead use a walk waypoint and add an action as the next waypoint, to check if you really went through it.
    If you use a stand on a teleporter (so the exact x-y-z coordinate of it) or using a walk on that same exact coordinate would give you the same result, wouldn't it? I'd like to hear your opinion on that, you got my attention :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •